Being a Mother without a Mother 

You problay guessed from my previous blog that I 100% think cancer sucks! 

If you haven’t have a scroll down for a read…

This is problay one of the hardest posts I have written. But guess what people need to know what it’s like to be a mum without a Mother.  Yes I have family, my cousin is practically mummy number 2 to Bell and Bear. I have my aunts and grandmothers too to ask for advice but you know what as much as I adore them it’s so not the same picking up the phone or popping round to see your own mum. 

Cancer has stolen so much, it’s stolen the connection of my mum watching me become a mum, watching her grandchildren grow and nature. Missed ny wedding day (but thats another post!) Having me phone up asking totally random questions, her offering to take a load of washing, or having the children during the day so I can do housework. Missing my mum seeing her grandchildren take their first step ladder, first word, first tooth, first day of school the list goes on and on.

It’s hard hearing people moan and complain and wish their mum would back of and let them bring up their children without any interference. Even though I know I would probably be the same too! 

Some people say that being a parent changes you and you really don’t know the bond you actually feel when you have your own children. It’s very hard to comprehend especially when you are motherless or fatherless. 

Each step your child makes, makes you think that someone is missing, someone should be there with you, other than your other half, husband or wife. It should be your mum. 

When your feeling poorly and you struggle through the day when all you really want is to call your mum up and she comes straight over and tells you to go to bed. 

Like I said I do have amazing cousins and my aunts but they work practically 24/7 So it’s very hard to be able to do this. 

I feel guilty that my mother in law sees the children weekly, and my mum is missing out. 

The world certainly changes, when your a mum I wouldn’t know if it would be easier if mum was here or not but if your mum is still about please don’t take leave her out of your children’s lives. You are so luckily she is offering to help, annoy you, buy the children endless amounts of sweets and magazines, clothes you may not like and give them junk food! 

Let them have the relationship as my two certainly won’t have a relationship with my mum

People who haven’t lost a mum or dad (I mean this in the nicest of ways obviously!!) Really really do not understand the emotions going through the mind of somebody who has lost their mum or their father. It doesn’t matter how old you are when you lose your mum it 100% doesn’t get any easier, the pain may ease but it’s always and always will be the first and last thing you think about during your child’s day to day life’s.  

2 thoughts on “Being a Mother without a Mother 

  1. This is so lovely and touching Rose. How weird because I have a post half written up with exactly the same heading! One day ill be as brave as you to publish it – well done you! Your great xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

