Pets and Children

When I was Pregnant with Bear, one of my relatives mentioned that I should re-home of my two cats, Patch and Smudge. They were almost 16 years old and had already gone through two house moves with me and they didn’t cope very well.

They were my mums cats so I was very amendment that they would not be going.

When Bear was born Patch wasn’t that interested and ran into the bedroom for peace and quite when Bear cried. He was more interested once Bear was more mobile and would chase the ball when he rolled it.

Smudge however was the most affectionate cat ever to Bear. When Bear cried smudge would sit either outside our bedroom door at night and meow or if I was in the Kitchen he would meow and walk around my legs and sometimes it would be a minute or two before Bear actually woke up.

When Bear was 8 months we were asked to foster a rescue kitten as the animal shelters were full over Christmas (please think before you buy!) and she is still here today.

When Bell was born we only had Patch, we did have Daisy too, Daisy wasn’t fussed but Patch turned into Smudge and was really good with her.

We now have Daisy (5) and Willow (1)  and they are both really good with the children. They do occasionally try and nip but it is usually when they are over excited and lose track of who they are playing with!

Leave a Reply

